Republic of the Philippines Province of Iloilo Municipality of Tigbauan Office of the Sangguniang Bayan Tigbauan Municipal Hall, Tigbauan, Iloilo 5021 Philippines (033) 511-8532 <u>sbtigbauan@yahoo.com</u>



EXCERPT FROM THE MINUTES OF THE 2nd REGULAR SESSION OF THE HONORABLE SANGGUNIANG BAYAN, TIGBAUAN, ILOILO HELD AT THE S.B. SESSION HALL, TIGBAUAN MUNICIPAL BUILDING ON JANUARY 13, 2021 AT 10:15 IN THE MORNING

PRESENT:

HON. VIRGILIO T. TERUEL, - HON. MA. GERRYLIN SANTUYO-CAMPOSAGRADO -		yor & Presiding Officer ber & Temp. Pres.Officer
HON. DENNIS T. VALENCIA	-	S.B. Member
HON. NERI T. CAMIÑA	-	S.B. Member
HON. MARLON R.TERUÑEZ	-	S.B. Member
HON. SUZETTE MARIE HILADO-BANNO	-	S.B. Member
HON. REYNALDO E. TUMABOTABO	-	S.B. Member
HON. JULIUS T. LEDESMA	-	S.B. Member
HON. NORBERTO T. TURALBA	-	S.B. Member
HON. JERRY T. TUARES	-	Liga President
HON. DYOSSA MARIE T. TERUÑEZ	-	SKMF President

ABSENT: NONE

Resolution No. 2021-005

RESOLUTION DECLARING AS **LEGAL** AND **VALID** BARANGAY 9 (POBLACION) ORDINANCES NOS. 2020-003 AND 2020-004 OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF TIGBAUAN, PROVINCE OF ILOILO.

WHEREAS, Brgy. 9 (Poblacion) Ordinance No.2020-003 - "An Ordinance Declaring the 28th day of December as Barangay Day;"

WHEREAS, Brgy. 9 (Poblacion) Ordinance No. 2020-004 – "An Ordinance Declaring the 25th to 31st day of May as Barangay Week;"

WHEREAS, the above-mentioned Barangay 9 (Poblacion) Ordinances were referred to the Committee for review and recommendation last January 6, 2021 and the committee has the following findings:

The ordinances were presented in a Barangay Assembly last November 15, 2020 and are consistent with the provisions of Section 391 of the Local Government Code, to wit:

"SECTION 391. Powers, Duties and Functions. – (a) The sangguniang barangay, as the legislative body of the barangay, shall:

- (1) Enact ordinances as may be necessary to discharge the responsibilities conferred upon it by law and ordinance and to promote the general welfare of the inhabitants therein;
- (24)Exercise such other powers and perform such duties and functions as maybe prescribed by law or ordinance;

x x x"

WHEREAS, the same are also consistent with SECTION 16 of the LGC which provides that every local government unit shall exercise the powers expressly granted, those necessarily implied there from, as well as powers necessary, appropriate or incidental for its efficient and effective governance, and those which are essential to the promotion of general welfare. Within their respective territorial jurisdictions, local government units shall ensure and support, among other things, the preservation and enrichment of culture, promote health and safety, enhance the right of the people to a balanced ecology, encourage and support the development of

Page 2-Res.No.2021-005

appropriate and self-reliant scientific and technological capabilities, improve public morals, enhance economic prosperity and social justice, promote full employment among their residents, maintain peace and order, and preserve the comfort and convenience of their inhabitants;

NOW, THEREFORE, on motion of VICE MAYOR, ATTY. VIRGILIO T. TERUEL, Chairman, Committee on Rules, Ordinances, Resolutions and Legal Matters and duly seconded by Hon. Dennis T. Valencia, Hon. Neri T. Camiña, Hon. Marlon R. Teruñez, Hon. Suzette Marie Hilado-Banno, Hon. Reynaldo E. Tumabotabo, Hon. Julius T. Ledesma, Hon. Norberto T. Turalba, Hon. Jerry T. Tuares and Hon. Dyossa Marie T. Teruñez;

RESOLVED, to declare as **LEGAL** AND **VALID** Barangay 9 (Poblacion) Ordinances Nos. 2020-003 and 2020-004 of the Municipality of Tigbauan, Province of Iloilo;

RESOLVED FURTHER, to forward copies of this Resolution to Mayor Suzette Tenefrancia-Alquisada, Municipal Mayor, this municipality, to Liga ng mga Barangay, to Brgy. 9 (Poblacion) and to all concerned for their information.

APPROVED.

CERTIFIED CORRECT:

MARLENE TAYO-NAVA S.B. Secretary

ATTESTED:

At T

ATTY. MA. GERRYLIN SANTUYO-CAMPOSAGRADO SB Member & Temporary & Presiding Officer

> HON. VIRGILIO T. TERUEL, LAWYER Municipal Vice Mayor

Sangguniang Bayan Members:

Hon. Dennis T. Valencia Hon. Neri T. Camiña Hon. Marlon R. Teruñez Hon. Suzette Marie Hilado-Banno, *M.D.* Hon. Reynaldo E. Tumabotabo Hon. Julius T. Ledesma, *O.D.* Hon. Ma. Gerrylin Santuyo-Camposagrado, *LLB,MPA* Hon. Norberto T. Turalba Hon. Jerry T. Tuares, (LnB-Pres.)- *Civil Engineer* Hon. Dyossa Marie Teruñez (SKMF-Pres.)

"Public office is a public trust. Public Officials must at all times be accountable to the people."